Enough is Enough with Cody Allen

Screenshot 2018-08-25 at 8.08.14 AM - Edited

I know I’m not alone. I know I share this opinion with 99 percent of Indians fans. But the time for talking about Cody Allen being removed permanently from his closer role is over. It has to happen-NOW.

We can’t take THIS anymore!

He is the Indians all-time saves leader- I get it. But he can’t be trusted anymore.

This goes back to Terry Francona being too loyal to his players. I’m sure Francona keeps thinking, or more likely hoping, that the next time Allen goes out there, this will be the time he turns it around.

I have news for him- it’s not happening. If my memory serves, Allen has only retired the side in order once in his last 13 outings. His window as a closer has, well…. closed!

Don’t take my word for it, just look at a couple of key stats:

Screenshot 2018-08-25 at 7.48.10 AM - Edited

Allen’s ERA is higher (by far) than any other season in his career. He’s also given up more runs, more importantly earned runs, than any other season with the Tribe. What’s scary is he’s given up all of those runs in only 54 innings. This has got to stop.

It’s time to move Allen to the 6th inning. There is no point bringing him in when the game is on the line. He still may get to get the team out of jams. I would be more comfortable with him coming in with 2 on and 2 out in a one-run game in the 6th- not the 9th.

Brad Hand is the man. Andrew Miller is the man. Adam Cimber and Oliver Perez can set them up.

I really like Hand and Miller closing for two reason:

  1. Hand is new the American League, so hitters don’t have much experience against him.
  2. Miller is rested. The time off for the injuries should have his arm feeling fresh.

The point is that there are much better options than Cody Allen. We need to start using them.

 

Leave a comment